7En2 – Mr Dettman – Speaking & Listening Self-Assessment

Due: Thursday, 1st October – Reply on the Blog, or written down and presented neatly on Paper.

Following your Speaking and Listening Assessment on the Evolution of the English Language, please write a minimum of half an A4 page (or at least 3 separate paragraphs), reflecting on your Assessment.

I would like the first section to focus on: ‘What makes a stronger Speaking and Listening discussion?  What do you have a responsibility to do, and what does the whole group have a responsibility for?’

Secondly, I would like you to consider the WWW (What Went Well) for yourself.  Reflect on a specific time during the assessment you were pleased about.

Lastly, I would like you to consider what you will do differently next time.  How will you score highly; what would make you stronger at Speaking and Listening?’

VCOP Focus: You should try and use Connectives to link your ideas and build up your sentences. (Not too long though, remember to use Punctuation, like commas and full stops too!)

Connectives Bank: (select a few to use)

and, also, besides, further, furthermore, too, moreover, in addition, then, of equal importance, equally important, for example, to illustrate, for instance, to be specific, such as, moreover, furthermore, just as important, similarly, in the same way, as a result, hence, so, accordingly, as a consequence, consequently, thus, since, therefore, for this reason, because of this e.g. another area where I would like to improve is…

5 thoughts on “7En2 – Mr Dettman – Speaking & Listening Self-Assessment

  1. shayla webber

    I think I am good at listening occasionally but only when it interests me, sometimes I can get drew in by other people and can not listen to what teachers tell me to do. Teachers could ask me questions and I could reply ”I don’t know”, because I wasn’t listening.

    I am getting better at my speaking, I can sometimes be a little shy when speaking to big audiences but to my friends I can be really loud. Speaking to me is someone listening to what you’ve got to say, but if they’re not interested It can get to me because I’m shy.
    speaking and listening by Shayla webber 072 7be.

    Reply
  2. Amy Grace Vennelle.

    My name is Amy Vennelle from 072,
    This email is my homework. Firstly I would like to talk about what makes a good listener. To me a good listener is someone who will not get bored sitting still. He/she should try and think what the speaker is thinking. And try and put them selves in their shoes. This is important because good listers should understand the point people are Trying to get across. Also if it means nothing to you it will be hard to remember.

    Listening is a skill for life it is so important for the person who is taking, it halps a lot to know that someone is listening. So show it this nod and keep them centre of attention showing signs for them is vital this encourages them. It may be more interesting then watching someone going pink at the front of the class room. But it is important to mix this with speech feel free to join in. Add questions to show that your interested and want to know more. When talking add expression and check that your class is not dropping off . Remember if I fail my teem fails.

    I think I tried really hard to include everyone. The conversation lasted along time. Even though it was a very small group. I put expression into my voice and tried to make it interesting. Next time I will try and not fidget to make me like I am more interested.

    Thank you for reading this,
    From
    Amy Vennelle from 072.

    Reply
    1. Amy Grace Vennelle.

      Well done to you Amy Vennelle.😁😁😁😁😂😂😂😂😇🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓

      Reply
  3. michael

    1. My name is Michael Davies from 072,
    This email is my homework. Firstly I would like to talk about what makes a good listener. To me a good listener is someone who will not get bored sitting still. He/she should try and think what the speaker is thinking. And try and put them selves in their shoes. This is important because good liters should understand the point people are Trying to get across. Also if it means nothing to you it will be hard to remember.
    Listening is a skill for life it is so important for the person who is taking, it helps a lot to know that someone is listening. So show it this nod and keep them center of attention showing signs for them is vital this encourages them. It may be more interesting then watching someone going pink at the front of the class room. But it is important to mix this with speech feel free to join in. Add questions to show that your interested and want to know more. When talking add expression and check that your class is not dropping off . Remember if I fail my teem fails.
    I think I tried really hard to include everyone. The conversation lasted along time. Even though it was a very small group. I put expression into my voice and tried to make it interesting. Next time I will try and not fidget to make me like I am more interested.
    Thank you for reading this,
    From
    Michael Davies from 072.

    Reply
  4. michael

    My name is Michael davies from 072,
    This email is my homework. Firstly I would like to talk about what makes a good listener. To me a good listener is someone who will not get bored sitting still. He/she should try and think what the speaker is thinking. And try and put them selves in their shoes. This is important because good listers should understand the point people are Trying to get across. Also if it means nothing to you it will be hard to remember.

    Listening is a skill for life it is so important for the person who is taking, it halps a lot to know that someone is listening. So show it this nod and keep them centre of attention showing signs for them is vital this encourages them. It may be more interesting then watching someone going pink at the front of the class room. But it is important to mix this with speech feel free to join in. Add questions to show that your interested and want to know more. When talking add expression and check that your class is not dropping off . Remember if I fail my teem fails.

    I think I tried really hard to include everyone. The conversation lasted along time. Even though it was a very small group. I put expression into my voice and tried to make it interesting. Next time I will try and not fidget to make me like I am more interested.

    Thank you for reading this,
    From
    Michael davies from 072.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

