8En2 – Mr Dettman – English Targets

Due: Thursday, 3rd September

Conversation Bubble Target

Following a good lesson today, please post your response to your ‘Conversation Bubble’ question in the form of a target.

For example, if a member on the opposite table asked ‘How will you ensure you get more confident in Spelling and building vocabulary this year?‘, a reasonable Target for your D4P Sheet, would be to: ‘To make sure I’m reading the school target of 1-2 (challenging) books per half term‘.

Extension: Suggest how this advert ties in to what we were talking about today, with regard to being a good Learner (I’ll reward well-considered responses with a Positive tomorrow.)  What do you think the human brain is capable of?

Honda Advert: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yEgF55x3_VM

Mr Dettman

10 thoughts on “8En2 – Mr Dettman – English Targets

  1. jordangooch

    Hi sir this is my hl,
    The person who wrote a question on mine, put I like that you like writing stories? I was confused because I thought how is this a question, but then I knew that there is still an answer, here is my answer!!! Thank you for for your kind comment, next time can I please have a question to answer for example… What type of books do you like writing? Why do you like writing stories? Do you like reading? Do you think you work at your best when writing stories? What is your weakness in writing stories? What connections are there between English and writing stories? thank you any ways for your comment 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  2. mrdettman Post author

    Great Jordan!

    Well done on being the first to answer, and use the Blog (remind me tomorrow, for a Positive!). Well done too on picking up on that not being a Question. I think your questions are far more relevant. How about you pick two to answer in response – set some targets from the first one. I think the first one should be: “Why do you like writing stories?” and the second one: “What connections are there between English and writing stories?” (See how I used a colon : to introduce a point there?)

    Also, when you quote someone else’s statement, always put in quote marks, to show it’s different from what you’ve just added (like I’ve done above).

    I look forward to your response; a love of Writing is fantastic! Mr Dettman

    Reply
  3. jordangooch

    Extension hl
    we were talking about how some people push them selves and become high achievers, and they do as best as they can, the advert ties in with that, as it is explaining that we all have limits and if you choose to push them, even if your voice inside your head is saying that is as far as you can go, you still push and achieve a high target. It also ties in because it says that if you realise that you can push yourself you will go faster and achieve a new kind of forward ( new target/ how you will go on later. ) A good learner will always push that little harder and will always do things to the best of their abilities. which helps them to reach their highest potential, and will help with things later on in life, for example getting certain jobs, taking on a business, earning money, all these things will depend on you getting that best of your ability and achieving good marks during your years of hard and worth it school work!!! our human brains are capable of great intelligence if you just work it that little harder and unlock the key to success knowing that the life ahead of you wont be so hard, knowing that the years of hardcore working has finally paid off.

    Reply
    1. mrdettman Post author

      Jordan, this is a fantastic answer!

      For two positives (see how I’ve upped the stakes!), please paragraph the sentences above (every time you change TIme, Place and TOPic – remember TIP TOP) and check where you might need to use a full stop instead of a comma – e.g. first sentence.

      If you are able to finish that off and print it (school or home is fine), I’d like to put that up on our Year 8 English board and as a Blog post for our Year 8 and 9 classes, with the Honda Advert linked in – I think they’ll find your analysis inspiring. Well done and keep it up! Mr Dettman

      Reply
  4. jordangooch

    Thank you sir, I was so busy doing the extension I didn’t even realise that you commented (oops 😦 )
    HL number 2:
    QUESTION NUMBER 1: “Why do you like writing stories?” My answer is, it makes me feel like when im writing them (and reading them over and over again checking for mistakes,) im in a whole new world and life, my imagination brings the story to life. Even in my old school my teacher said that my strength in English was writing stories, so I decided to keep that in mind and do well in my new school and keep writing stories (when we are asked to in our lesson) to the best of my abilities. I find it hard to get an idea for a story, but once im writing, it goes well. Personally I think my target on this one is to be quick on getting an idea (and be aware of how long it is taking me to think of an idea,) and try really hard once I have one
    QUESTION NUMBER 2: “What connections are there between English and writing stories?” My answer is the connection between the two is that they both use written work to describe how you see things (or their opinion to things.) They both can be able to describe things as someone sees them for example… ooh that statue is really shiny, like a newly polished shoe, or wow that olive is as green as the grass. They both have to have a baseline: or title to follow what they are doing something about for example…
    my juicy red apple.
    I had an apple it was red and juicy. It fell out off a tree onto my lap whilst I was sunbathing in the park. I gave it a glance, then decided to wash it. my tongue was licking my lips thinking… mmm should I take a bite. in the I dared to try a bite of that lonely red apple. it was very juicy and delicious in fact it was so juicy I had apple juice trickling down my chin. that was my adventure story about my juicy red apple.
    the end…
    that is my hl sir

    Reply
  5. jordangooch

    Thank you sir, I was so busy doing the hl 2 I didn’t even realise that you commented again (oops 😦 😦 )

    extension hl 2
    we were talking about how some people push them selves and become high achievers, they do as best as they can.

    The advert ties in with that, as it is explaining that we all have limits and if you choose to push them, even if your voice inside your head is saying that is as far as you can go. You still push and achieve a high target. It also ties with what we were talking about because it says that if you realise that you can push yourself you will go faster and achieve a new kind of forward ( new target/ how you will go on later. )

    A good learner will always push that little harder and will always do things to the best of their abilities. Which helps them to reach their highest potential, and will help with things later on in life. For example… getting certain jobs, taking on a business, earning money, all these things will depend on you getting that best of your ability and achieving good marks during your years of hard and worth it school work!!!

    our human brains are capable of great intelligence if you just work it that little harder and unlock the key to success knowing that the life ahead of you wont be so hard. Knowing that the years of hardcore working has finally paid off.

    I have completed your extension sir on what I have already done. hope its all ok. thank you for your great comments on my work.

    Reply
  6. caleb

    Hi sir please can i talk to you about the home learning tommorow because i really dont get it and my laptop is about to restart sorry sir that i havent completed it
    from caleb

    Reply
  7. Troy Bradbury

    Hi Sir,
    My Original Home learning Task:
    In Lesson Jay asked a question in response to my comment in my bubble: What Makes you Hate Poetry So much?
    My answer is : The reason I hate poetry so much is because I cannot see the point of writing about your surrounding in awkward rhymes. My opinion is that poets are people who love English so much they forget about common sentence structure, and condensed their use of the language to such a point that children have to spend hours trying to understand the point.
    Extension Task:
    The relationship between the advertisement and lesson. In lesson we were writing about what we are good or bad at, If you translate this into the words of ‘advice’ from the advert it becomes:
    Whatever you are good or bad at you can improve yourself and your potential is limitless. If you push harder and practice longer, you will reach the pinnacle of your potential and at this point you can set and achieve your goals. Goals so hard that they challenged you to a point that initially they seem impossible, goals that make you struggle to achieve them… BUT if you do not give up there is nothing you cannot do. Don’t fear achievement don’t stop trying there are no limits, make yourself and your achievements known and teach those who do not understand, there are no boundaries, there are no limits! It is all in your mind!
    BY Troy Bradbury

    Reply
    1. mrdettman Post author

      Troy, this is very well considered and very eloquently written (look this up and give me an explanation for an extra Positive). Particularly good points from a language perspective, and very encouraging for the future: you put ‘advice’ into inverted commas – just the right way to use them. I also like that you acknowledge that you can ‘teach’ those who do not understand – that’s the role I want you to play in our class this year. Can you do that?

      Finally, let’s look at some really impressive poetry – it is actually a written form that realises on a BALANCE between tight structure and discipline in terms of constructing the sentences/poem/language itself, and expressive extreme emotion and images. Do you see how difficult it might be to be both creative and expressive, and technical; how both of those might seem to be in opposition to each other? The beauty of poetry is bringing together both the technical and creative aspects to expressive yourself more effectively.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

