Year 9 – Politics (MBA)

Hello Class.

Thank you for your enthusiasm, your engagement and your contribution tot he course – you made it really exciting – and well done tot he UKIP candidates who won the School Election!

I’d like some feedback on how you felt the course went – what worked and what didn’t? How was it working with the other classes? How was it speaking to the whole school in assembly? How was it connecting the course to current events? Did you learn much? Did you learn much English? Before you reply, brainstorm and sequence your response so that you relay the information to give prominence to your most important points. choose your words carefully.

I look forward to hearing your feedback and will be marking this on structure and word choice.

This should take you about 35-40 minutes.

23 thoughts on “Year 9 – Politics (MBA)

  1. Chessie

    Concerning the politics course that we have studied in English; I think that most pupils enjoyed the scheme of learning due to it impacting our lives in the future.

    I think that it was quite an innovative idea of sorting the classes into the political party groups (UKIP, Liberal Democrats, Conservatives, Green and Labour.) This made more of our class work hard at the teamwork aspect and not letting anyone down, producing the best speeches e.t.c that we could.

    Personally, I didn’t speak in front of the school in the assembly (I cannot do public speaking), but I put lots of respect to the pupils that did, they didn’t seem nervous at all and I think that the strongest parties at that task were Green and Conservatives.

    As I said before, this course was extremely beneficial to our futures, doing things such as connecting this scheme of learning to the real life parliamentary elections and looking at the parties’ policies really helped us get interested in the subject of politics.

    Learning wise, I think that I have learnt a lot of new grammatical techniques such as parallelism (repeating phrases to help the structure of the writing) and I have kind of got a glimpse of what it would be like in Westminster, being an MP/MEP and the pressure that they have to face daily with the hard-working attitude.

    I don’t agree that there is much to improve on for this scheme of learning apart from maybe making some party propaganda to help promote our parties in the school election.

    Reply
  2. Katie L

    Recently, we have done a scheme in English concerning politics and the 2015 general election in general. Here’s how I think it went.

    So, in terms of what went well, there are quite a lot of things which I felt worked during this topic. To start with, it was good that we got chosen in parties randomly. I was in the Labour party for this scheme and I was originally anti-Labour, but, now I have looked deep into the policies; I now understand why people vote for Labour- and, in other cases, the other parties.

    We’ve learnt a lot of persuasive techniques, we’ve written speeches, a lot of speeches. So, we have learnt a lot of English and Grammer along the scheme.

    To improve this topic, we could look more into how it influences the media and maybe do some effective propoganda and advertisement.

    Reply
  3. lucybranton

    This term we have been studying Politics in the United Kingdom, ranging from researching party policies, to article writing techniques and speech performance analasyse. A lot of things worked- such as working in political-party teams to write speeches, and performing them to the rest of Year Nine. Performing infront of our peers meant that we built confidence and experience, and practiced our speaking and listening techniques.

    However, there is always a dark side to the light, and there was always going to be things that wouldn’t work out as well. For me, I don’t think being cramped in one English Classroom with almost the whole of Year Nine, plus a few teachers, with students sat in the middle of a ring being attacked with questions, was a very good experience. It felt like a Roman Colloseum, where the audience watches two animals/soldiers fight. It was very uncomfortable.

    Working with other classes wasn’t uncomfortable for me, as I (naturally) know everyone. However, there may have been some slight discomfort with some other students, as this gave the chance for some people to mess around, and not actually do any work, nor learn anything about Politics or focus in class.

    I think Politics is highly connected to English as a subject because it is continuously mentioned in the news, and is always active in the world. Politics is (literally) what makes the world go round. It is the decision making, the great ruler above our heads that we need to know about. Therefore, learning Politics in English has not only just given us a stepping-stone into the world of Politics, and Government, but also more knowledge on persuasion.

    I have (although not thoroughly) enjoyed learning about Politics in English, and I believe that I, and other students, have learnt all we need to know to keep up with Politics in the news, and today.

    Reply
  4. Beth

    For the last couple of weeks in English all 3 year 9 groups have been working together in the different party’s they were given to write speeches and persuade the school to vote for them.

    I found this subject really fun and enjoyable, I feel like I have widened my knowledge about politics and learning to write speeches even more. I think learning about the election and politics is really important to learn about for later life, it helps us decide what party suits our beliefs so we have a fair idea for when we get to vote. This subject has also brought all year 9’s closer, debating and arguing our party’s policies has been both fun and educational and I feel arguing formally brings people closer.

    On the other hand, I feel like not every single person was involved, it felt like once the party chose their person to perform their speech, not all of the team was included. The same person from that party also was mainly involved in the debating and reading out everything, and not one other person got to speak up. I also think that we should have been clear about all party’s policies from day 1, because by the last few days of the election, still not every person knew other party’s policies and beliefs.

    But overall I thought more positive than negative about this subject, I really enjoyed all of it and hope we learn similar subjects like this in the future.

    Reply
  5. katie. s

    Recently, we have been studying a course on politics in English. I feel that this course really benefitted me and many other students in the year, as we were studying an area which linked to our future lives. I think that the “real life” aspect in the course, was a real eye opener to many students, and helped us realise that one day this really will affect us. I think that connecting the three different ability classes in one scheme of learning was a really clever and thoughtful thing to do, as we could all work together and help each other with all our different strengths and weaknesses.

    I think that politics is a very important part of life that all students should be educated in anyway, as one day it will be us making these big decisions on who will run our country. I think that the fact that it was real life made us all a lot more interested and made us want to put more effort into the work we were creating.

    The aspect of competition in it all was also very appealing to us, as we all wanted to win. It didn’t matter if we agreed with “our” parties policies or not, we all felt the need to impress the other years and get them to vote for us. I think that this created a sense of urgency to produce the best work you could, to make your speech appealing, and to impress all the other students in the school.

    I think that having to read our speeches to the rest of our year was more challenging for most than having to read them in front of the school. I think that being able to read a speech out in a competition with the rest of your peers is a very brave thing to be able to do. I think that reading out in front of the school isn’t as intimidating because you are not as close with them as you are with your own year. I also think that the speech reading was a great way to learn about posture, body language, and movement whilst performing.

    Overall, I think that the scheme of work was very innovative, with the year all being together, and helping each other. I think that I learnt more in this scheme of work than any other I can remember. I definitely think that the whole year should be brought together more often, after seeing how well we all worked together.

    Reply
  6. Greg

    In the last couple of weeks our whole year has efficiently been educated about politics in Great Britain. Efficiently because i felt as if far more pupils were interested and engaged in this current topic. Besides the normal education,that we get, about poetic techniques or suff like that a relevant topic like his ,affecting all our lives, has caught a lot more students` attention. The lessons have worked very fluently ,parallel to the election, but they have also educated about politics in general.

    Seperating the students into the parties they were representing helped each student to focus on a certain party, which ,at the end, effectively has been used to bring all our knowledge together. This kind of `interactive learning` has been supported by letting us work individually. However it has been different than doing research all by ourselves because we have been brought together with other pupils from the year aswell. This didn`t just help to create extra knowledge but to create variety, which spieced things up a bit more.

    We could meet real politicians which was a very effective method of making students engage in what they are taught about because a lot of students haven`t done anything similar before and therefore wanted to use this opportuniy as good as possible. This Event has been followed up by a newspaper article about us. We could recognize us in the pictures, which has been an honour to all of us.

    Being taught about how to stand up infront of people, speak out loud, persuasively bring across a message, aswell as bringing in the right gesture was another thing that has educated all of us genrally. It is a very important thing, needed to suceed in life. A few of us had the opportunity to speak in front of the years below and above. Quickly the chances were taken and to me speaking in a different language infront of a school in another country has been an intimidating but also outstanding experience that I am very grateful for -but also would repeat. It definitely helped us pupils build confidence.

    Persononally, I have learnt a lot. Not only much more about the English language but also about a different kind of politic. Having the direct comparison between two different Nations, shows you how big this world must be.
    -Thank you

    Reply
  7. julie

    This term we have been doing politics I think that it went well as I now have a better understanding of the election than I have before. For the election my party was green so learnt all about their policies for example before, I did not know that they want children to start school at the age of seven. I now have a better under understanding on our contrary’s politics , I have also learnt new English skills…

    In school we have been doing politics so we have been writing speeches , using lots of persuasive techniques to persuade the other party’s to vote my party. One of the new techniques I have learnt is to make my speech persuasive is anaphora , this term describes the most famous part of a speech. E.g. The repetition of a (now famous) slogan or phrase for example “I have a dream” this made the audience remember the speech .So over all in this scheme of work I have learnt a lot of English techniques , also I think it was important that we covered politics as our vote is very important.

    I did not speak in the whole school in assembly however by watching them I learnt about politics for example I did not know that green were going to reduce the amount of spending on the army. I did not go to the whole school assembly however I heard them in the whole year speaking, in the hall.

    Over all I think that politics was a good scheme of learning as it was important .I don’t really think it needs improving apart from maybe choosing my own party.

    Reply
  8. julie

    This term we have been doing politics I think that it went well as now I have a better understanding of the election than I have before. For the election my party was green so learnt all about their policies for example before I did not know that they want children to start school at the age of seven. I now have a better under understanding on our contrary’s politics I have also learnt new English skills…

    In school we have been doing politics so we have been writing speeches using lots of persuasive techniques to persuade the other party’s to vote my party. One of the new techniques I have learnt to make my speech persuasive is anaphora this term describes the most famous part of a speech E.g. The repetition of a (now famous) slogan or phrase for example “I have a dream” this made the audience remember the speech .So over all in this scheme of work I have learnt a lot of English also I think it was important that we covered politics , as our vote is very important.

    I did not speak in the whole school in assembly however by watching them I learnt about politics for example I did not know that green were going to reduce the about of spending on the army. I did not go to the whole school assembly however I heard them in the whole year speaking ,in the hall.

    Over all I think that politics was a good scheme of learning as it was important .I don’t really think it needs improving apart from maybe being able to choose my own chose of party.

    Reply
  9. Jonah

    I feel that the politics course improved our knowledge on persuasive language and speaking skills as well as providing an interesting and relevant topic. I think that the idea of putting us into parties was a great way to make everyone competitive and made us want to explore the different policies and controversy of the parties, rather than being forced to. To add to that
    the group speeches was a great way to focus all of our writing expertise into one speech, using the techniques we learnt earlier. This got us to work as a team effectively and improved our speaking and listening.

    Choosing to do the course at the time of the election meant we were independently learning about the topic outside of lesson, weather it was watching the news, or the TV debates that went on in the build up to the vote.

    I feel that that you could have expanded on the part propaganda idea more as i think the lessons you did on that subject interested the students. We could have also put posters up across the school, adding to the independent learning i have talked about before.

    Overall I believe that the course we have done this half term has both been productive and useful to us and also improved our speaking and writing skills.

    Reply
  10. Saul :P

    I think on a whole the course when really well, it covered a lot about politics and how politicians use rhetorical devices to persuade people. The idea of putting us in parties was a great idea as it gave everybody a competitive aspect to write better speeches and think of better ideas than the opposing parties.
    Most of the lessons were really well planned, productive and fun. However at times (mainly in the double lessons) I felt like the lesson were at times a bit boring but at the same time still fun.
    Working in our parties was really good, you could tell every party wanted to win and it made the course more fun. Working with the other classes was fun too.
    I think in one lesson we could have watched an actual speech or debate and talked about how politicians answer questions without actually answering the question asked but we did other things which were just as good.
    In this course I and others have learnt a lot about UK politics and will benefit from it. Speaking in the assembly was really fun, I use to do musical theatre so I’m use to speaking to an audience.

    Reply
  11. bronwyn

    In the recent month, we have been studying politics. We have written and performed our speeches dedicated to a party and have thoroughly looked into the policies behind each one. Meanwhile focusing on different writing techniques such as rhetorical devices. The three English classes got mixed up for a change and we took our learning outside of the classroom to perform our speeches to the whole school. This course has been an intense but exciting one.

    When I look at what worked and what didn’t, I first think of mixing the classes-this worked! It was nice to work with people of different abilities and to see how they learn. We were able to help eachother. Consequently, we created these effective speeches as an amazing outcome.

    Secondly, I think the idea of taking our learning outside the classroom really worked. The thought of being judged by our peers really pushed us to want the best. The added pressure really made us ththrive and in the end, it all payed off.

    On the other hand, what didn’t work so well was the whole ‘voting’ idea. It was extremely biast. If your friend did the speech, people would vote for the party just because your friends were in it. Equally, people voted parties they wouldn’t particularly vote for, just for the banter. However, I understand that it is impossible to control this situation any better than what was done.

    This course was related to the outside world too and I found this interesting but also very helpful. I watched the news and I could use the information from the news to help me in my own writing. It was an easy form of practical learning that allowed me to learn lots, inside and outside of the classroom.

    I learnt about the policies of each party I learnt about how to actually deliver the speech. Be confident ; use gestures; pause every now and then. However I don’t think I learnt much english skills. I learnt how to use the rhetorical devices effectively in a speech but I feel we could have learnt more instead of focusing on delivering(although that was helpful too)

    To conclude, I did enjoy this course. I learnt lots about performance and general knowledge. I feel somewhat of an expert on greens policies. However to improve, I feel we needed to somehow incorporate more english skills.

    Reply
  12. Greg

    In the the last couple of weeks our whole year has efficiently been educated about politics,parallel to the real election. Efficienlty because besides getting taught about stuff like poetic techniques, Students ,as i felt, were more encouraged about this current and relevant topic since it is affecting all our lives.

    The learning functioned very fluently since we pupils were seperated into parties and also representing them. We could research Information ourselfes and then bring together all our knowledge. Different to just doing research we could pair up with other the students from the year which created variety and spieced things up a bit. I think it helped to encourage the students to show their best side infront of the other pupils.

    We had the chance to meet real politicians. I think this motivated a lot of pupils to inform themselfes about the topic because they have never had a chance like that and wanted to make the best out of it. This was folowed up by a news article about us. We could recognize our faces in the paper what I am very grateful for.

    Being taught about how to speak out loud,effectively bring in gestures and how to persuasively bring across a message also was very educating for us in general.Having this knowledge is needed in life to suceed. Some of us had the chance to speak in the assembly with the students from the years below and above listening. Quickly these chances were taken and it helped to build up our cfidence. To me, being able to hold a speech in a different language in a school differing from the one in your home country was a very intimidating but also outstanding and mindlowing experience -that I definitely would repeat.
    -Thank you

    Reply
  13. Frieder

    I enjoyed the course in politics a lot, because i learned a lot. I didn’t knew the names of the parties and their policies. I thought there would be a party that is green, one left handed and one right handed party and i knew what that meant, but i wasn’t well informed. The course really helped me knowing a lot of their policies and what they wanted to do when they win the elections or get seats in parliament. I personally worked in the LibDems Group and enjoyed searching their website because i think they got some good points for the UK and are very liberal what their name already says.
    I really enjoyed the work with the other classes, because you were able to not only work with the same people at one time and so there have been a lot of differences in the whole time. I wasn’t speaking in front of the whole school in assembly, but i can imagine that everyone who hold a speech was very excited.
    I think it was nice that we have done the course in the election time and role played a real voting in the school. I thought the meeting with the politicians in the local area was exciting as well because you learn the people who are making the policies and know how they actually act.
    At all this course also improved my English skills, because you get to know a lot of new key terms and when you are writing a speech you need to be very careful what and how you write it, because it is really important as politician to find the right words.

    Reply
  14. solly

    I enjoyed the topic allot I learned lots of new things about politics even though I now know this my views against them are still negative
    my English skills have improved and
    it is really important as politician to find the right words.
    so I think that everyone including me has improved in some way vie also learnt about the green labour and consertave party

    Reply
  15. Urchy

    I feel it was a very important thing to learn about politics as it can change this whole country and affect people’s life’s s both positively and negatively. It may even affect us one day too.
    Most of the activities we done were enjoyable because we got to see other groups and their parties ideas, and the debate was fun too. Although I did lose my interest at some points, mostly when we were sitting around for very long periods. But besides that I think the topic was well worth learning. Before we done this topic I had absolutely no idea what parties were or how politics worked, I now know a whole deal more and I am happy I do.
    This topic improved everyone’s listening skills, speaking skills (Yes that’s a thing), knowledge on politics, persuasion skills and writing skills. I think my favourite lesson was when we done speeches because we weren’t sitting around for ages, instead we were doing something creative and showing everyone are own personal work. I was disappointed that Labour didn’t win but never mind!

    😀

    Reply
  16. Georgia

    I enjoyed speech writing, because we worked collaboratively, it was worthwhile because we learned about rhetoric devices and also how to structure the speech. I also think that putting us into political parties worked well because we were all competitive, so we put more effort in order to make your own party look better than your peers’ party.

    Disappointingly, the speech givers didn’t get to hear the debate because we were practicing. I appreciate that we were on a tight schedule, but I think it would have been beneficial to touch on the points being raised and add them into my speech. Nevertheless, I still feel the speech written by my party and I was strong and I enjoyed sharing our points about Lib Dems concerns with the rest of the school. However, I did improve my collaborative skills and learned what rhetoric devices are, I practiced speaking and listening skills as well.

    I have definitely learnt a lot during the politics course, particularly about the parties’ policies. – My knowledge and opinion on politics now really proves that I knew barely anything about it before even though I thought I did. Throughout this topic two important aspects have stood out to me, these are: opinion and delivery. Because If you give your own opinion or an anecdote with your party’s policy it shows that you care and proves that the policy will affect you too. And secondly, delivery is key in all processes of speech writing, debating and giving the speech. People may not agree with your point to start with, but if you are persuasive and your points engaging, you could completely change voters’ minds. The visit from the local party representatives proved that the way you say your point really does have a different effect, as every candidate was persuasive enough to make me want to vote for them.

    Overall, I found this topic really quite interesting and engaging, I think that the television debates and action in the media helped me to see how actual politicians react to each other’s points effectively.

    Reply
  17. Nadia

    I think that getting to research in our own ways at home to make posters and speeches. But, I think that doing the research at home means that there could be some confusion in class if one person got something wrong and the others didn’t they could put in the wrong information in the speeches.

    I think that working with the other classes worked, because then each class could share their information with the other classes. The other classes could also learn information from the other class on the particular subject.

    I think that some people got nervous speaking in front of the whole school. But, I also think that speaking in front of the whole school also boosted people’s confidence in talking in front of people. It was also good because people will hear the same thing as others instead other people telling them the wrong facts.

    It was good learning about politics because when we get old enough to vote we will already know the policies of the parties so we will know some background information on them. We can also give our families our opinion on who we think should get the vote.

    I learnt quite a lot about politics because before the start of the topic I didn’t know anything about it, but now I know the different parties and the policies. I also learnt about rhetorical devices and how to use them in speeches and persuasive articles.

    Reply
  18. Andy P

    When i was told we were learning about the general election like a lot of the class i wasn’t thrilled. But as we learnt new things i found it quite engaging and enjoyed it more than i expected, especially doing the school election which made me feel involved and interested.

    I learnt a lot more about politics than i thought. I didn’t even know the colours of the partys. But now i have learnt all the prime minster potentials and there policies. I now understand the way the election works.

    I think the speech we wrote was quite effective but as i didn’t read i dint see the reactions of people listening. But as i helped write it i hope it was persuasive. It was interesting learning about current events of the media and understanding the decision of our parents voting.

    To conclude i found learning about politics quite interesting and i think the school election was a success and helped us to learn about current events.

    Reply
  19. Jenna

    I think that this was a fun and valuable topic to learn about and experience, as it is something we will use in our later life. It was interesting to learn about such a vast topic that does actually effect everyone whether they realise it or not, and the fact that we got to incorporate it into our learning is very benefitial.

    It was good to work with other groups, working on one campaign because you felt like you could fit as much as you possibly could into your seperate part of the topic so that all together it’d be a very thorough campaign. It was also good to work with other groups because you felt like you had a different perspective on things.

    Connecting this scheme of learning to the real event was fitting because whenever your family etc were talking about the election you felt like you had a say and you understood, making this topic not just the boring ‘grown up’ business. Following this, I learnt a lot I didn’t know before, not just about politics, but also about how to write a persuasive speech using rhetorical devices, which will benefit a lot of people in the future.

    Learning wise, this was a great oppurtunity to expand on points you may not be able to put across in a different way (e.g rhetorical questions, allusion, etc) and be able to write a lot without being stumped for things to write. I didn’t personally read a speech out loud in assembly, but I think this was a great oppurtunity for people to improve on their speaking and listening skills and for the floor to improve on their question answering skills and listening skills.

    Overall, I think this was a very benefitial course for everyone, and was enjoyable. I would do this course again as it helps you improve in so many different ways, not only in English but in your understanding of politics aswell.

    Reply
  20. Nele Pannewitz

    Politics project – Review

    For the last two weeks we have been discussing politics in English.
    We had to improve our knowledge about politics, our speech writing and researching skills.

    In my opinion this project was very important. As the party that wins is going to make the decisions about so many facets in our life we all should know what their policies are.
    I think many people didn’t even know the MPs for our region so it was very good that we were “forced” to think about them and their opinions. For many of us it clearly helped to build up an own opinion about the election as well.

    Which now leads me to the way we were tought:
    Even if I think that polititcs is important and also very interesting most students in our year don’t which is quite normal. So they would have taken this whole project just like any other boring lesson.
    However, for most of us this shouldn’t have been the case. We were put into Party-groups. Which was also good: Firstly, we had to leave our comfort zones. Secondly, we had to research into parties we might knw the least about.
    In these groups we then researched party-policies – from our parties and the opposition – and prepared speeches for a few assemblies in the week before the election.
    Due to this we expierenced the interest in the outcome and the eagerness actual politicians might feel. It suddenly became important to us what we were doing, what the politicians were doing, what others thought of us, as they were going to vote on May the seventh.
    Because of this I wanted to give my best as many others did as well.

    I can’t say anything about the group debate because I was practising my speech with some others.
    I can say more about our work on speeches. I learned a lot about rhetorical devices, what I never did in English. While writing my speech, I thought about every sentence at least five times before and after writing it and even then I still changed some expressions. I also practised it at home as I really wanted to win this elcetion.
    And then there was holding the speech in front of so many students and that was wunderfull.

    All in all I have to say I really enjoyed this project. It was fun, it was informative and it was successfull.
    the only thing I wanted more is that I’d liked to go more in depth in terms of politics in general. E.g. the British political system, policies etc.
    but certainly the time we had was to short. I still think there should be a Politics/economy subject offered.

    Reply
  21. Kieron :)

    For the last fortnight we have been been working on the topic, politics. what this topic has aimed for is the improvement of your knowledge to politics, and their use of devices in writing speeches, etc….

    I feel this topic, like many others, was very important for our post-school life as well as our lives now, you could almost call it a life skill, there’s no where else you could learn this from. And i think learning policies from the candidate parties is good to learn at a young age, so you have a strong idea on who you will vote for when your time comes around to vote.

    This topic has broadened the understanding of other parties policies to students, as you are probably aware most people think that all of UKIP’s policies are racist, i also thought this until i researched and spent time on looking in to it.. this revealed that in fact their policies aren’t racist, but some of the mps were, and have been dealt with. most students will not have known that if it had not been for the topic.

    I felt working with the other groups, like in many other ways, had its advantages and disadvantages. my group most got on with the task, with the exception of joe holding his posting so high in the air it was almost as tall as the house of commons. alsha had a good work attitude, she wanted to talk and get her points across, charlotte and nele were by far the best at speaking to the class, they both had the politician work ethic about them. they really got into charter and really had it feel like they knew there parties policies down to the last letter. even if they didn’t agree with any of the policies in the partie.

    I think we as a class have learn a lot, as i already stated, most people wouldn’t have know the policies of candidate parties or any of the MPs, but now i feel we can all say one thing we have learnt.

    I myself didn’t speak in the assembly, but for those who did i think to real courage and nerve to stand up say what they have to say, have inmind some of the parties they were putting the policies across for weren’t best liked by the crowd.

    so to bring this to a conclusion i think that 95% of the class has learn either ,benefited or simply gained experience from this topic.

    Reply
  22. Julius

    I think that the politics course went very well, with the different tasks we had to do, making posters and speeches it never got boring, at least not for me.
    Working with the other classes was a really good idea, because we had bigger groups to discuss our speeches, and also more feedback during the rehearsals. It also brought a lot more knowledge into our party groups, because most of the students really did research into the parties´ policies.
    Speaking to the whole school in the assembly wasn´t as exciting as speaking to the Year 9, even though I know a lot of people in Year 7, 8 and 10, you felt more secure than in front of Year 9. Firstly because you knew that these students didn´t do the parties or their policies in the depth we did it. Secondly, and even more important, because they didn´t mark you straight afterwards, but a week later with the election.
    That we connect our courses to current event was something completely new for me. We never did that in Germany, so I can´t really judge whether it was successful or not.
    I learnt really much, because to be honest: I had no idea of the UK´s voting system, the parties or anything like that. So I learnt quite a lot about the UK itself. I think that I didn´t learn much English, apart from some speech devices like Anaphora, or a few more words for my vocabulary.
    To improve the course, I would say, that next time we get to choose what party we are in, because I believe that this was the only Situation where we possibly “lost” students, when they weren´t happy with their party because they disagreed with their policies or whatever.

    Reply
  23. dan clark

    also I think on a whole the course when really well, it covered a lot about politics and how politicians use rhetorical devices to persuade people. The idea of putting us in parties was a great idea as it gave everybody a competitive aspect to write better speeches and think of better ideas than the opposing parties.
    Most of the lessons were really well planned, productive and fun. However at times (mainly in the double lessons) I felt like the lesson were at times a bit boring but at the same time still fun.
    To improve the course, I would say, that next time we get to choose what party we are in, because I believe that this was the only Situation where we possibly “lost” students, when they were not happy with their party because they disagreed with their policies or whatever.
    i i would not mind do it again

    Reply

Leave a Reply

