Mr Dettman – 10En2 – Act 2 Scene 2 – The ‘Dagger Scene’

Due: Wednesday, 4th March

MACBETH:        Is this a dagger which I see before me,
The handle toward my hand? Come, let me clutch thee.
I have thee not, and yet I see thee still.
Art thou not, fatal vision, sensible
To feeling as to sight? or art thou but
A dagger of the mind, a false creation,
Proceeding from the ?
I see thee yet, in form as palpable
As this which now I draw.
Thou marshall’st me the way that I was going;
And such an instrument I was to use.
Mine eyes are made the fools o’ the other senses,
Or else worth all the rest; I see thee still,
And on thy blade and dudgeon gouts of blood,
Which was not so before. There’s no such thing:
It is the bloody business which informs
Thus to mine eyes. Now o’er the one halfworld
Nature seems dead, and wicked dreams abuse
The curtain’d sleep; witchcraft celebrates
Pale Hecate’s offerings, and wither’d murder,
Alarum’d by his sentinel, the wolf,
Whose howl’s his watch, thus with his stealthy pace.
With Tarquin’s ravishing strides, towards his design
Moves like a ghost. Thou sure and firm-set earth,
Hear not my steps, which way they walk, for fear
Thy very stones prate of my whereabout,
And take the present horror from the time,
Which now suits with it. Whiles I threat, he lives:
Words to the heat of deeds too cold breath gives.

A bell rings

I go, and it is done; the bell invites me.
Hear it not, Duncan; for it is a knell
That summons thee to heaven or to hell

1. From the extract, what do you learn about the character of Macbeth?

Use evidence from the extract to support your answer, and respond with 3, fully-formed P.E.E. + D sentences.

2. Using your understanding of the extract, explain how the following lines might be performed:

(Pick three phrases, and create 3 P.E.E. paragraphs, saying how and more importantly, WHY they might be performed as they are, going on what you know about the plot and characters.)

 

Is this a dagger which I see before me,
The handle toward my hand? Come, let me clutch thee.
I have thee not, and yet I see thee still.
Art thou not, fatal vision, sensible
To feeling as to sight? or art thou but
A dagger of the mind, a false creation,
Proceeding from the heat-oppressed brain?

You should consider the following in your answer:

  • actions
  • positioning
  • movement
  • voice
  • gesture
  • facial expression
10 thoughts on “Mr Dettman – 10En2 – Act 2 Scene 2 – The ‘Dagger Scene’

  1. Luke harding

    Point : What are the marshals doing to Macbeth.

    Evidence: the quote that shows this is thou marshall’st me the way that I was going;
    And such an instrument I was to use. This shows that the marshals look after him and tell him were to find Duncan and to kill him.

    Explain: The marshals are telling Macbeth were to go and how to plan on how to kill Duncan who is his friend who he has to kill to be the king and the marshals are telling him how to do it.

    Point: what does the mind of a dagger tell me about Macbeth.

    Evidence: “A dagger of the mind” the quote shows how Macbeth really wants to kill King Duncan.

    Explain: This tells me that Macbeth is angry and wants to kill Duncan with a dagger instead of a sword and he wants to be the king after he was not to sure about it.

    Point: How the scene tells me about what Macbeth thinks what will happen when he is killing Duncan.

    Evidence: “It is the bloody business which informs thus to mine eyes”. This quote shows how much Macbeth will or might get hurt in the battle between him and Duncan.

    Explain: This tells me that this will be a bloody battle when he goes to kill King Duncan. when he kills him he will have blood running down his face down to his legs.

    Reply
  2. Josh Hobson

    In macbeth you learn that macbeth is slowly going crazy because he knows he has to kill the king so thats why he sees the dagger for example ”Is this a dagger which I see before me, The handle toward my hand?”

    I think the part of macbeth at this point would be acted in a way that people don’t understand him because he is seeing something that others can’t see and also I think macbeth would be waving his hand around trying to clutch the bloody knife.

    point: why is macbeth looking at invisible knife.

    example: when macbeth starts to see the bloody knife he is so sure that he is going to kill Duncan but as he goes on he starts to become unsure and starts to question himself.

    explanation: I think because of what the witches told him that he has ignored them and just thought about other things and it has been growing in his mind until he starts to see a bloody dagger reminding him of what is to come.

    ”Is this a dagger which I see before me,
    The handle toward my hand? Come, let me clutch thee. I have thee not, and yet I see thee still.” I think this will be performed with macbeth trying to clutch the knife and slowly realises that their isn’t one there with a surprised but slightly scared face.

    ”Mine eyes are made the fools o’ the other senses”
    I think this will be performed with macbeth slowly pacing around a sewery kind of place and him looking around the place that he is in looking out to see if anyone is listening to his conversation with himself.

    ”I go, and it is done; the bell invites me. Hear it not, Duncan; for it is a knell”’ I think macbeth will start pacing faster because it shows that macbeth is starting to get more and more worried about killing duncan and he will start playing with his hands showing he can’t wait any longer.

    Reply
  3. Josh Hobson

    Sorry this is the one with the right spelling and punctuation and capital letters.

    In Macbeth you learn that Macbeth is slowly going crazy because he knows he has to kill the king so that’s why he sees the dagger for example ”Is this a dagger which I see before me, The handle toward my hand?”

    I think the part of Macbeth at this point would be acted in a way that people don’t understand him because he is seeing something that others can’t see and also I think Macbeth would be waving his hand around trying to clutch the bloody knife.

    point: why is Macbeth looking at invisible knife.

    example: when Macbeth starts to see the bloody knife he is so sure that he is going to kill Duncan but as he goes on he starts to become unsure and starts to question himself.

    explanation: I think because of what the witches told him that he has ignored them and just thought about other things and it has been growing in his mind until he starts to see a bloody dagger reminding him of what is to come.

    ”Is this a dagger which I see before me,
    The handle toward my hand? Come, let me clutch thee. I have thee not, and yet I see thee still.” I think this will be performed with Macbeth trying to clutch the knife and slowly realises that their isn’t one there with a surprised but slightly scared face.

    ”Mine eyes are made the fools o’ the other senses”
    I think this will be performed with Macbeth slowly pacing around a sewery kind of place and him looking around the place that he is in looking out to see if anyone is listening to his conversation with himself.

    ”I go, and it is done; the bell invites me. Hear it not, Duncan; for it is a knell”’ I think Macbeth will start pacing faster because it shows that Macbeth is starting to get more and more worried about killing Duncan and he will start playing with his hands showing he can’t wait any longer.

    Reply
  4. Harry Cheong

    Point : Why is macbeth looking at invisible knife.

    Evidence: “A dagger of the mind” the quote shows how Macbeth really wants to kill King Duncan.

    Explain:when Macbeth starts to see the bloody knife he is so sure that he is going to kill Duncan but as he goes on he starts to become unsure and starts to question himself.

    Point : How the scene tells me about what Macbeth thinks what will happen when he is killing Duncan.

    Evidence: ‘It is the bloody business which informs thus to mine eyes’. This quote shows how much Macbeth will or might get hurt in the battle between him and Duncan.

    Explain: This tell me Macbeth can’t 100% sure he can really save, when he in the battle.

    Point : What are the marshals doing to Macbeth.

    Evidence: the quote that shows this is thou Marshall’ st me the way that I was going;
    And such an instrument I was to use. This shows that the marshals look after him and tell him were to find Duncan and to kill him.

    Explain: The marshals are telling Macbeth were to go and how to plan on how to kill Duncan who is his friend who he has to kill to be the king and the marshals are telling him how to do it.

    Reply
  5. kurtis

    Point why is Macbeth going insane about the bloody dagger.
    Evidence’s this a dagger which I see before me,
    The handle toward my hand? Come, let me clutch thee.
    I have thee not, and yet I see thee still.
    Art thou not, fatal vision.
    Explain this would be acted in some form of confusion because Macbeth does not want to kill Duncan but he knows has to else he will not become king.
    Then Macbeth starts to become more and unsure as time goes on.
    Point why are the Marshalls tricking Macbeth.
    Evidences the Marshalls are telling Macbeth where to go to so he will find Duncan so he can kill him.

    Reply
  6. Clark Baker

    Macbeth is first very confused and weird because he thinks he sees things that don’t exist. For example he sees a dagger in front of him in line six. The exactly quote is “A dagger of the mind, a false creation“.

    Macbeth is also very certain because at the end he says that he will go and do it. The extract is also full of iambic pentameters which support the fact that he is certain to do what needs to be done. For example the sentence in line 3 (“I have thee not, and yet I see thee still.”)

    The scene could be acted in a very mysterious room with maybe some fog in it or something like that to strengthen the argument that Macbeths mind is nebulized at the moment too.
    He could also waggle with his hand to reach for the imagined dagger.

    Reply
  7. SAM

    in the extract it clearly shows that macbeth is going completely mad, such as when he says “let me clutch thee”, this shows that he is imagining him grabbing the dagger and killing Duncan. he also says “To feeling as to sight?” this says that he cant feel it but he can see it it happening (killing Duncan).

    p: when macbeth says “let me clutch thee”.
    e:this shows that Macbeth has a feeling of wanting to kill Duncan but it then goes onto say “I have thee not, and yet I see thee still” this means that Macbeth wants the dagger but he doesn’t have it at the moment and doesn’t have the courage to do it yet.
    E: Macbeth knows that he shouldn’t kill his king but because of all of the pressure coming from his wife he feels as if he should because of lady Macbeth saying things like Macbeth feeds off the milk of human kindness.
    P: Macbeth then says “a dagger of the mind, a false creation”.
    E: this shows that Macbeth has the constant thought of killing Duncan because he is constantly told by his wife how good it would be to be Royal and how much easier life would be.
    E: Macbeth also says that it’s a false creation which could show that he doesn’t want to do it and that its “false” that he could ever do such a thing to his king/friend.
    P: Macbeth goes onto say “It is the bloody business which informs thus to mine eyes”
    E: this means that what he has to do is bloody and he says business which shows that it’s more of chore and he would probably not want to do it if he had a choice, when he says the bloody business it shows that there will definitely be blood spilled.
    E: when it says “informs thus to mine eyes” that might show how when he kills Duncan he will see it through his own eyes.

    Reply
  8. morgan

    Explain: The marshals are telling Macbeth were to go and how to plan on how to kill Duncan who is his friend who he has to kill to be the king and the marshals are telling him how to do it.

    Reply
  9. Alex Bennellick

    In the extract it clearly shows that Macbeth is going completely angry, such as when he says “let me clutch thee”, this shows that he is imagining him grabbing the dagger and killing Duncan.
    P: Macbeth then says “a dagger of the mind, a false creation”.
    E: this shows that Macbeth has the constant thought of killing Duncan because he is constantly told by his wife how good it would be to be Royal, how much easier life would be and more people would respect them.
    E: Macbeth also says that it’s a false creation which could show that he doesn’t want to do it and that its “false” that he could ever do such a thing to his king/friend.

    Reply
  10. keesha noon

    In this extract Macbeth has gone a bit crazy but he looks a bit upset and mad.

    P: When Macbeth says “let me clutch thee”.

    E: This shows that Duncus is scared and he knows that he wont to kill him but doesn’t really have the courage to just in case he gets court.

    E: Macbeth knows that he shouldn’t kill his king but because it is bad but then he also thinks that he should as he will become king and he is also getting presured into it by his wife.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

