HWA – 10xEN2 – Question B due tomorrow (Friday 6th)

Answer Question B.

Using your understanding of the extract, explain how the following lines might be performed.

Consider: actions, positioning, movement, voice, gesture, facial expression

EXTRACT:

MACBETH
I’ll go no more:
I am afraid to think what I have done;
Look on’t again I dare not.
LADY MACBETH
Infirm of purpose!
Give me the daggers: the sleeping and the dead
Are but as pictures: ’tis the eye of childhood
That fears a painted devil. If he do bleed,
I’ll gild the faces of the grooms withal;
For it must seem their guilt.
Exit. Knocking within

I’ve put a link to the No Fear Shakespeare version here so you can use this to help you. Remember that you will need to quote from the original text. http://nfs.sparknotes.com/macbeth/page_58.html

You will only have 8 minutes for this question in the exam.

Due tomorrow.

An independent enquirer working at:
Grade E: will show a basic understanding of performance techniques and make limited reference to the text
Grade D: will show occasional understanding of effectiveness of performance techniques and make some references to the text
Grade C: will show a sound understanding of the effectiveness of performance techniques and give clear references to the text to support response.

2 thoughts on “HWA – 10xEN2 – Question B due tomorrow (Friday 6th)

  1. Josh s

    In this extract it shows Macbeth come back from doing the deed of killing king Duncan, as he comes back he will have a look of horror and guilt on his face and he will hold his bloody hands. Macbeth is so horrified with what he has done he refuses to go back to Duncan and plant the daggers. For example he says “I am afraid to think what I have done.” This is performed by Macbeth almost bursting out in tears and turning away so his wife cannot see. Lady Macbeth see’s the daggers in his hands and her face terns from excitement to anger and helplessness. She will snatch the daggers.for example she say’s “give me the daggers” this shows that she is determined to carry the full plan out.

    Reply
  2. connagh

    i believe in this extract macbeth will act distraught and unaware of what he has done ‘I’ll go no more:I am afraid to think what I have done; Look on’t again I dare not.’ i believe that macbeth would be gasping for air, and is horrified of what he has done to his own cousin. i think that macbeth would say this quite quietly and holding back his emotions.and would be standing and looking away from the door because he says he is afraid of he has done ‘I am afraid to think what I have done’.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

