Year 11 – Heroes 2

Finally, the score stood at 20 – 19. My favour. One point away from victory. I resisted meeting Larry LaSalle’s eyes. It was still his serve. Crouching, waiting, I finally looked at him, saw his narrowed eyes. They were suddenly inscrutable, mysterious. A shudder make me tremble, as I realized that he could easily win the next two points and take the championship away from me. He could win it so easily and so humiliatingly that the crowd – Nicole – would know instantly that he had been toying with me all along.
The perfect serve came my way but my return was perfect. We entered a see-saw cycle, hit and return, repeating endlessly, near-misses and lunging stabs, until finally the ball came to my side, a breath-taking shot that veered to the table’s edge, causing the crowd to gas, although he and I know that it was within my reach. His final gift to me. Lunging, I returned the ball to the only place it could go, impossible for him to return.
He led the cheers, the hollers and whistles of celebration. Dashing to my side of the table, he pumped my hand, hugged me furiously, his ear close enough for me to whisper ‘Thank you’. He turned me over to the crowd as the cheers continued, my name endlessly shouted. My eyes sought Nicole, found her joyous face, hands joined together, as if in prayer, eyes half-closed as if making herself an offering to me.


How does Cormier use language to give impact to this point in the story
?
For a B grade:
i. ‘My favour and ‘One point away’ are not full sentences but ‘fragments’ or ‘phrases’. What is the effect of using them?
ii. Why does Cormier use such a long sentence in the second paragraph?
iii. How does the triplet (‘the cheers, the hollers and the whistles’) in the third paragraph add to the moment of celebration?
For an A grade:
i. What is the combined effect of placing the two present participles (‘crouching, waiting’) next to each other?
ii. ‘Nicole’ is placed between two hyphens – how does the punctuation here make us understand what is going through Francis’ mind?
iii. How does Cormier combine use religion as an extended metaphor in the third paragraph

3 thoughts on “Year 11 – Heroes 2

  1. georgia

    Cormier uses language to create impact in this part of the story. Firstly the use of short sentences or fragments of whole sentences help to build tension and engage the reader well. Cormier has used these sentences at the beginning of this extract: “Finally, the score stood at 20 – 19. My favour. One point away from victory. I resisted meeting Larry LaSalle’s eyes. It was still his serve.” This helps to give informations across to the reader quickly but briefly, due to them being fragments from whole sentences. The use of these types of sentences here links well with the situation Francis is in, he is playing a match of table tennis against Larry LaSalle.

    In addition the phrase: “He could win it so easily and so humiliatingly that the crowd – Nicole – would know instantly that he had been toying with me all along.” Is used to create impact in this part of the story, through placing ‘Nicole’ between two hyphens. The use of this punctuation makes us understand that Francis is wanting to win ,due to Nicole watching. Moreover, Francis wants to impress her. Also it implies that he doesn’t care about the other people in the crowd, only Nicole.

    Lastly, Cormier creates a combined effect by placing two present participles together: “Crouching, waiting, I finally looked at him, saw his narrowed eyes.” This adds extra information to the point, and therefore engages the reader more and gives more of a detailed explanation to the position Francis is in.

    Reply
  2. Sapphire

    Cormier uses short scentences to impact the reader, by using these he adds additional information without being overly decriptive. ‘One point away from victory’ and phrases like ‘ my favour’ allows the reader to recognise the situation Francis is in however it does not bore you with additional information that is explained in lenghty scentences. By adding scentences like this in his writing it helps to keep the reader engaged and enjoying the piece of writing.

    Within the second paragraph Cormier adds a long, descriptive scentence which contrasts with the short, punchy ones used in different parts of the book. ‘We entered a see-saw cycle, hit and return, repeating endlessly…’ By using a long scentence such as this, it describes what is happening at each moment and makes you imagine the scene in more depth, this makes it play in your mind like a video.

    Finally, the use of a triplet when describing the celebration helps to depict Francis’ feelings at that specific moment. ‘The cheers, the hollers and whistles of celebration’ is a part of Francis’ personal narrative which Impies that he feels proud of his success due to his understanding of their reactions to his victory. This makes Francis feel slightly superior to Larry for a split second compared to him looking up to him throughout Francis’ memories of his childhood at the wreck centre.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

