Motivation

I want to know what motivates you. What is going to ensure that you get the grades you want? Is it money, pride? Your parents’ approval? A promise of a university course?
To score a B grade, use emotive writing and adventurous vocabulary in a way that motivates me!
To score an A grade, add to this by considering several possibilities adn quoting what other people have said to you about how to be successful to build your point before explaining your conclusion in a persuasive way.

11 thoughts on “Motivation

  1. Sam Burgess

    The thing that motivates me the most is the gratitude I get from my parents when I get good grades and the smile on their face when they see a good report card. OH wait they have never seen a good report so I will never know

    Reply
  2. Jess Branton

    “Motivation is a psychological feature that arouses an organism to act towards a desired goal and elicits, controls, and sustains certain goal-directed behaviours. It can be considered a driving force; a psychological one that compels or reinforces an action toward a desired goal.” – Wikipedia.

    There a many things that motivates me.

    For example, my karate instructors motivate me to try and achieve black belt, which is so far working because I am currently halfway towards my desired goal.

    Music and certain bands make me motivated to try and help me to get where I want to be.

    Food also helps me motivated, in order to concentrate on what I’m doing.

    To score a D – C grade and above, I need to use more emotive language in my writing skills. This will also help me achieve what I want to do in college, which needs 4 D’s and above. Hopefully I will be successful at school to then gain a job that I am happy with, have a nice car and an affordable house. I can also improve my grades by taking on feedback that I have been given, so I can be much better each time, because success reads success.

    Reply
  3. Savannah

    I think that a variety of factors motivate me. In general, I think I am quite a motivated person; I don’t really like having done something badly, as I’m a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to my own work. I think enjoyment is a large factor; if you enjoy what you’re doing, then you’d WANT to do it.

    Another thing that motivates me is my future, and how I can have a future I will be content with. A quote that reminds me of this is, ” We all live under the same sky, but we don’t all have the same horizon.” Some days I won’t be bothered and I’ll not want to do my work, but then I think, if I don’t bother now, this could be important and I’ll miss out in the future. It’s a choice to carry on, and in that way, a choice for what “horizon” in life each person will head for.

    There are some extrinsic factors, like money, that can help. However, money can, in a lot of ways, take away the simple joys of doing things. For instance, if I was doing something I enjoyed, and then someone offered me money to do it again, for, say, a week, I would do it. But then if that person stopped paying me, I would probably feel less motivated to do it like I did at first. I wouldn’t be doing what I enjoyed for myself anymore, I’d be doing it for the reward.

    Overall, then, I would say that what motivates me is my future, and the horizon i will head for, starting now. Also wanting to do things well and personal enjoyment motivate me too. However, even if it isn’t enjoyable at first, I am motivated by the thought that it will get better, and that my hard work will pay off.

    Reply
  4. Aimee Felton

    What motivates me the most is music, I feel music can help me keep concentrated and make me want to do my work as it shuts out any distractions made in a class room. I also feel that thinking of the next step forward and thinking about my future helps me stay motivated, as I would like to reach my goals and get where I want in life.

    I do a lot to try and get my parents approval, as I am compared to my sister and feel I have to do as well as my sister did. My sister has influenced me and motivated me to do well as I would like to get similar grades to get into the course I need for my future. My sister always told me ‘compare yourself to the better.’ This has made me compare myself to what I could be like and what I could be acheiving. By comparing myself to better people puts pressure on me and makes me want to do it more.

    To score a C, I need to get to my points quicker and become clearer with my writing structure. Hopefully I will succeed and get a C In English as I need 5 c’s or above to get into my course at college which has been promised if I get my grades… A secure place at college has also motivated me to do well in English and school overall.

    Reply
  5. James

    What motivates me is…. nothing really. I just do stuff the best I can because it happens to be what I`m doing at that moment. I want to try to do something the best I can because it makes it feel little worthwhile I suppose, other than that I just go with it, nothing else to it. Although I have noticed differing reactions to work based on certain music influence. Not really sure why though.

    There aren`t really any extrinsic factors influencing me either. Money? It doesn`t last long, believe me. Decent house? As long as it`s not a cardboard box I don`t mind what it is.Motivation`s a bit overrated to be honest.

    To get the grades I want I`m going to apply everything I`ve learned in my work. I will try to work on time management, writing a lot, context, ideas and devices, the areas I`m a bit weaker on. I will also try to incorporate skills from other subjects to broaden my range of effects.This should help me get a C or B. Hopefully.

    Reply
  6. Georgia

    What motivates me is wanting to get a good grade in English to be able to go to a 6 form and complete an a level in English literature/language. I want to be able to do well in my future and I feel that if I get a good grade in all my subjects, especially English, that I will be able to achieve high and well in my future. This is more likely to give me a well paid job also.

    Reply
  7. Brandon

    What motivates me to get a better grade is university. I will do what I have to do to reach my specific grade which I didn’t so I wish to retake the topic. I’m motivating by seeing my grades appauling then trying to push myself harder to make them the best that they can be. I wish to achieve a C or higher (I hope). The reason for wanting to achieve a C is to make it easier to get into university due to having more GCSEs.

    Reply
  8. India

    The approval from my parents motivates me. I try my best to make them happy however the main thing that motivates me in English is my pride. I enjoy sharing my work with the class and this pushes me to improve my work.

    Reply
  9. Josie

    What motivates me is approval from my parents because I want them to be proud of me and to do better than my brothers and sister.
    What also motivates me is getting a good grade in English. I want to do well in my future and be able to make my parents proud of me. I also need good grades to be able to go to university.

    Reply
  10. Daisy

    I’m planning on doing English literature at A-levels and getting the best grades i can at GCSE level will make college significantly easier so i’m motivated by having less stress later.

    Reply
  11. Lucy Stone

    My motivation comes from my favourite kind of music, Heavy Metal and Metal, and from the support of my boyfriend. This motivates me because of the way that the lyrics in the songs speak to me and give me inspiration when I am feeling bad, and the fact that I can relate to a lot of the lyrics in the songs makes me feel like I can do more for myself and others. The support of my boyfriend motivates me also because he is one of the only people who truly believes in me and supports and encourages my decisions. .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

