Mr Legowski’s 10xEN1 home learning – due Monday 4 November

Dear class,

Your home learning over the half-term break is simply this: prepare a plan for your Unit 1 Reading controlled assessment.

You will take this assessment in the first week after the half-term and, together with the Unit 1 Writing task, it accounts for 20% of your English GCSE.

I have attached a template for a plan, which you can use as the basis of your own. You must, however, put specific detail from the two texts you choose to compare; you cannot simply use the template. I shall email the three texts (Daily Mail, Roald Dahl and Anthony Browne) in case you need fresh copies; the exam board’s copyright may prevent me from putting them on this public forum.

Exemplar plan for Unit 1 Reading controlled assessment (Note: this plan is perhaps more suited to analysis of pictorial texts; you should have more language-focused points in your own assessment, though you should still consider the use and effect of images and overall layout.)

Finally, your groups’ developed PEE paragraphs are below. (I had to photograph them as I still wasn’t able to scan them right up until the staff training day last Friday. I hope the quality is acceptable.) Anyway, which one is the best? Take the good ideas and ways of writing from the groups’ work and use them to improve your own standard of analysis and paragraphing.

If you have ANY questions or concerns about the coming assessment, do not wait until Monday’s lesson. Write to me by email or in the box below and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can during the coming half-term break.

Mr Legowski

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “Mr Legowski’s 10xEN1 home learning – due Monday 4 November

  1. Sophie

    I think that the best PEE paragraph is Tylers, Nells and Emilia’s. This Is because I like the way it is laid out, it includes a slight introduction, great points and a useful conclusion. I also think that the points are put across clearly as they developed them and used necessary examples to back them up. It gave me a great understanding of how writers make texts more appropriate for their audience and therefor was very effective.

    Reply
  2. Erin

    I think the one written in blue pen which starts “The ‘I like music…’ I liked this one the best because it is a developed PEE paragraph which has many examples in it backed up with an explanation to why it is used. Also, their points are clear and specific with detail like the age range of the readers. It has direct comparisons between the two showing differences. From the start they were clear what text was better so you got a biased opinion rather than being confused with their emotions on the texts.

    Reply
  3. james c

    sir can i start mine on moday and not tomorrow cuz i havnt completed my plan in much detail due to me being very busy over the past 2 weeks its only a single lesson tomorrow anyway ( friday)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

